教育安全認證解決方案 |學生數據隱私的 Hideez 身份驗證服務

教育安全認證解決方案

根據紐約州教育局提供的信息,2022 年 1 月的一次網絡攻擊中,紐約州超過 100 萬名前任和現任學生的私人數據被洩露。

這確實是一個驚人的數字,表明教育部門的網絡攻擊有多麼危險。教育中的身份盜竊可能會對數據洩露或被盜的學生產生改變生活的後果。這提出了一個問題,學校是否應該擁有更好的安全性並實施更先進的網絡安全措施以將這些教育數據洩露降至最低?

我們將回答這個問題並提供直接和有用的解決方案,以增強學校網絡安全並防止學校網絡攻擊。為此,當涉及到學生數據隱私的最佳安全實踐時,我們將討論“原因、方式和內容”。

為什麼?

由於持續的 Covid-19 大流行,學校和大學不得不調整和轉移他們的在線教育計劃。而且,雖然這種由大流行引起的向遠程和混合學習的轉變可能對大多數學生來說很方便,但它也帶來了不同的在線安全挑戰。

威脅可以以各種形式出現。問題可能出在內部,例如,如果一些學生訪問同齡人的數據並使用它來欺負或勒索他們。它們的規模也可能更大,例如,如果犯罪分子獲取學生信息並將其出售給暗網上的第三方。

大多數教育機構的 IT 團隊通常都比較分散,因此高等教育網絡攻擊的增加也就不足為奇了。因此,為了在越來越遠程的學習系統中應對這種日益增加的威脅,機構轉向更先進的網絡安全解決方案。

如何?

保護知識產權

在保護教育機構的學生和教師方面,需要考慮許多法律要求。這主要涉及了解關鍵的 K-12 隱私法,如 FERPA、CIPA 等。

為了遵守家庭教育權利和隱私法案 (FERPA),學校和大學需要確保其 IT 基礎設施中沒有漏洞。他們需要採用一致的監控和數據加密,並及時了解不斷變化的法規。

兒童互聯網保護法 (CIPA) 可以說更容易被忽視。這是因為教育機構沒有有效地防止未經授權洩露和使用雲存儲中的學生數據。

受 CIPA 約束的學校必須確保未成年人無法訪問互聯網上的不當內容,並確保他們在使用直接電子通信服務時始終是安全的。針對前者,它包括限制未成年人獲取可能對他們有害的材料。

什麼?

讓我們轉到頁面的要點。這就是Hideez 身份驗證服務如何通過保護端點身份驗證幫助學校和高等教育機構最大限度地降低學生數據隱私風險。

Hideez 提供一體化解決方案,包括安全密碼管理桌面 MFA 、基於生物特徵登錄或二維碼的無密碼身份驗證以及許多其他功能。為了更好地理解這一點,我們將仔細研究 Hideez 身份驗證服務的四個主要組件。這些都是:

🗄隱藏服務器

Hideez 服務器是一個 FIDO2 / WebAuthn 服務器和 SAML 2.0 身份提供者。它在具有許多用戶和工作站的環境中提供無密碼 FIDO2 身份驗證和雙因素身份驗證,這意味著您可以獲得不依賴於共享機密的強身份驗證。因此,在網絡安全和教育的背景下,它是提供教師和學生身份驗證的完美解決方案。例如,Hideez Server 允許 IT 管理員以簡化和安全的方式授予或限制教師、學生和其他員工的訪問權限。

隱藏身份驗證器隱藏身份驗證器

Hideez Authenticator 是一款方便的免費移動應用程序,適用於 Android 和 iOS 設備。一旦教師和學生在他們的移動設備上設置它,他們就可以使用該應用程序方便地登錄他們的帳戶或生成一次性二維碼。換句話說,Hideez Authenticator 實質上將用戶的智能手機設備變成了個人安全令牌。而且,由於它符合穩健的身份驗證標準,用戶不必擔心任何未經授權的訪問問題或他們帳戶的其他問題。

秘鑰秘鑰

在確保更好的高中和大學網絡安全方面,Hideez Keys 是一個可選的補充,但非常有價值。這些是包含內置 RFID 標籤的小型物理鑰匙。它們符合最新的網絡安全標準並支持多種協議。學生、教師和其他員工可以使用這些密鑰獲得更多便利,例如管理密碼、使用自動填充功能和生成一次性密碼。此外,用戶還可以使用接近鎖定功能鎖定或解鎖 Windows 計算機,甚至打開RFID 門鎖

🖥隱藏客戶端

Hideez 身份驗證服務的最後一部分,但與前三個部分同樣重要,用於 Windows 個人計算機的Hideez 客戶端軟件可確保上述所有功能順利運行。與 Hideez 密鑰一樣,這是 Hideez 身份驗證服務的可選組件。它提供密鑰和服務器之間的連接,並確保安全的用戶憑證管理。

主要優勢

當然,理解主題的“原因、方式和內容”,我們還應該強調 Hideez 身份驗證服務的主要優勢。以下是您可以期待 Hideez 帶來的安全優勢的簡要概述:

  • 數據加密——所有數據都在物理設備上安全加密。這可以通過 Hideez 身份驗證器在您的手機上完成,也可以直接通過 Hideez 安全密鑰完成。
  • 遠程訪問– 憑藉有利的遠程控制訪問和特權訪問管理,教師、學生和工作人員無需向任何人透露其憑據即可使用教育工具和平台。
  • 使用快捷方便——無密碼登錄系統允許即時訪問,節省了用戶在每次登錄時輸入憑據所花費的時間。從長遠來看,這為教師和學生節省了大量時間。
  • 強大的保護– 您可以依靠完善的保護來抵禦不同類型的在線攻擊,包括網絡釣魚、欺騙和中間人攻擊。
  • 合規性——Hideez 身份驗證服務符合所有最新的現代安全和隱私標準。這包括NIST 、FIPS 140-2、FERPA 和 CIPA。

如果您想確保您的教育機構符合最新的法律要求,Hideez 認證服務是最佳解決方案。您可以安排 Hideez 服務的在線演示或立即申請 30 天免費試用:

組件

Hideez Server
Hideez Server
  • Centralized Identity Management
  • Grant and confiscate Privileged Access
  • Assign or reset passwords remotely
View more
Hideez Authenticator
Hideez Authenticator
  • A free mobile app for Android and iOS
  • Login to computers using your phone
  • Passwordless login with biometrics or one-time QR codes
View more
Hideez Key
Hideez Security Keys
  • Hideez Key 3 or Hideez Key 4
    Password management & 2FA
    Proximity-based PC lock/unlock
    FIDO2 passwordless authentication
    RFID electronic door lock

View more
Hideez Client
Hideez Client Software
  • Connection between the Hideez Server and Hideez Keys
  • Add, edit, and delete personal accounts
  • Automatic protection from phishing
View more

Secure Authentication Solutions for Education | Hideez Authentication Service for Student Data Privacy

Secure authentication solutions for Education

 

According to the information provided by the New York State Education Department, the private data of more than a million former and current students in the state of New York was exposed during a cyberattack in January of 2022. 

This is truly a staggering number and shows just how dangerous cyberattacks in the education sector can be. Identity theft in education can have life-changing consequences for students who have their data exposed or stolen. It poses the question, should schools have better security and implement more advanced cybersecurity measures to keep these education data breaches at a minimum?

We’ll answer this question and provide direct and helpful solutions to enhance school cybersecurity and prevent school cyber attacks. To do so, we’ll go over the “why, how, and what” when it comes to the best security practices for student data privacy.

WHY?

As a consequence of the ongoing Covid-19 pandemic, schools and universities had to adapt and shift their educational programs online. And, while this pandemic-caused shift to remote and hybrid learning may have proven convenient for most students, it has also brought on different online security challenges.

Threats can come in all shapes and forms. The issue can be in-house, for example, if some students access their peers’ data and use it to bully or blackmail them. They can also be on a much larger scale, for instance, if criminals obtain student information and sell it to third parties on the dark web.

IT teams in most educational institutions are generally spread thin as it is, so an increase in higher education cyberattacks comes as no surprise. So, to combat this increasing threat in a progressively more remote learning system, institutions turn to more advanced cybersecurity solutions.

HOW?

Protect intellectual property

 

When it comes to protecting students and teachers in educational institutions, there are a lot of legal requirements that need to be taken into consideration. This primarily pertains to understanding crucial K-12 privacy laws like FERPA, CIPA, and others.

To be compliant with Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA), schools and universities need to ensure that there are no vulnerabilities in their IT infrastructure. They need to employ consistent monitoring and data encryption and stay up to date with the ever-changing regulations.

Children’s Internet Protection Act (CIPA) is arguably even more overlooked. This is because educational institutions don’t effectively protect against unauthorized disclosure and use of student data in cloud storage.

Schools subject to CIPA must ensure that minors cannot access inappropriate content on the Internet and that they are safe at all times when using direct electronic communication services. Focusing on the former, it includes restricting minors from accessing materials potentially harmful to them.

WHAT?

Let’s move to the main point of the page. That is how the Hideez Authentication Service helps schools and high-education institutions minimize student data privacy risks by protecting endpoint authentication. 

Hideez offers an all-in-one solution that includes secure password management, desktop MFA, passwordless authentication based on biometric logins or QR codes, and many other features. To better understand this, we’ll take a closer look at the four main components of the Hideez Authentication Service. These are:

🗄  Hideez Server

Hideez Server is a FIDO2 / WebAuthn server & SAML 2.0 Identity Provider. It delivers passwordless FIDO2 authentication and two-factor authentication in an environment that features many users and workstations, meaning that you obtain strong authentication that doesn’t rely on shared secrets. So, in the context of cyber security and education, it’s a perfect solution for providing teacher and student authentication. For example, the Hideez Server allows IT admins to grant or restrict access to teachers, students, and other staff in a streamlined and secure manner.

Hideez Authenticator  Hideez Authenticator

Hideez Authenticator is a handy free mobile app available for both Android and iOS devices. Once teachers and students set it up on their mobile devices, they can utilize the app to conveniently sign in to their accounts or generate one-time QR codes. In other words, the Hideez Authenticator essentially turns the user’s smartphone device into a personal security token. And, as it meets robust authentication standards, users don’t have to worry about any unauthorized access problems or other issues with their accounts.

Hideez Keys  Hideez Keys

When it comes to ensuring better high school and college cybersecurity, the Hideez Keys are an optional addition but a very valuable one. These are small physical keys that include a built-in RFID tag. They comply with the latest cybersecurity standards and support multiple protocols. Students, teachers, and other employees can use these keys to obtain added conveniences like managing their passwords, using autofill features, and generating one-time passwords. Moreover, users can also lock or unlock Windows computers using the proximity lock feature and even open RFID door locks

🖥  Hideez Client

The last part of the Hideez Authentication Service, but an equally important one as the previous three, the Hideez Client software for Windows personal computers ensures all of the above features work without a hitch. Like the Hideez Key, this is an optional component of the Hideez Authentication Service. It provides a connection between the keys and the server and ensures secure user credential management.

KEY BENEFITS

Of course, understanding the “why, how, and what” of the topic, we should also highlight the main benefits of the Hideez Authentication Service. Here’s a quick rundown of what security advantages you can look forward to with Hideez:

  • Data Encryption All of the data is securely encrypted on a physical device. This can be done either on your phone through the Hideez Authenticator or directly through a Hideez security key.
  • Remote Access With advantageous remote control access and privileged access management, teachers, students, and staff members don’t need to reveal their credentials to anyone to use educational tools and platforms.
  • Fast and Convenient Use  The passwordless login system allows for instant access, saving users the time they would otherwise spend on typing their credentials on every occasion they want to log in. This saves both teachers and students a lot of time in the long run.
  • Strong Protection You can count on sound protection against different types of online attacks, including phishing, spoofing, and man-in-the-middle attacks.
  • Compliance – The Hideez Authentication Service is compliant with all of the latest modern security and privacy standards. This includes NIST, FIPS 140-2, FERPA, and CIPA.

If you want to ensure your educational institution’s compliance with the latest legal requirements, the Hideez Authentication Service is the optimal solution. You can schedule an online demo of the Hideez Service or request a free 30-day trial right away: 

 

Components

Hideez Server
Hideez Server
  • Centralized Identity Management
  • Grant and confiscate Privileged Access
  • Assign or reset passwords remotely
View more
Hideez Authenticator
Hideez Authenticator
  • A free mobile app for Android and iOS
  • Login to computers using your phone
  • Passwordless login with biometrics or one-time QR codes
View more
Hideez Key
Hideez Security Keys
  • Hideez Key 3 or Hideez Key 4
    Password management & 2FA
    Proximity-based PC lock/unlock
    FIDO2 passwordless authentication
    RFID electronic door lock

View more
Hideez Client
Hideez Client Software
  • Connection between the Hideez Server and Hideez Keys
  • Add, edit, and delete personal accounts
  • Automatic protection from phishing
View more